Home > Public Holidays in Punjab (2018)

Public Holidays in Punjab (2018)

Public Holidays in 2018

 

Name of the Festival Date Weekday Type of Holiday
Republic Day Jan 26 Friday Gazetted Holiday
Guru Ravidas Birthday Jan 31 Wednesday Gazetted Holiday
Maha Shivratri Feb 14 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Holi Mar 2 Friday Optional Holiday
Ram Navami Mar 25 Sunday Optional Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti Mar 29 Thursday Gazetted Holiday
Good Friday Mar 30 Friday Gazetted Holiday
Bank Holiday Apr 1 Sunday Bank Holiday
Vaisakhi Apr 14 Saturday Optional Holiday
Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Apr 14 Saturday Gazetted Holiday
Idul Fitr Jun 16 Saturday Optional Holiday
Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day Jun 17 Sunday Optional Holiday
Independence Day Aug 15 Tuesday Gazetted Holiday
Janmashtami Sep 3 Monday Optional Holiday
Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Oct 2 Tuesday Gazetted Holiday
Dussehra Oct 19 Friday Optional Holiday
Maharishi Valmiki Jayanti Oct 24 Wednesday Gazetted Holiday
Diwali Nov 7 Wednesday Gazetted Holiday
Guru Nanak Jayanti Nov 23 Friday Gazetted Holiday
Guru Tegh Bahadur's Martyrdom Day Dec 12 Wednesday Gazetted Holiday
Christmas Dec 25 Tuesday Gazetted Holiday

Recent Posts

Public Holidays in 2017

 

 

Name of the Festival Date Weekday Type of Holiday
Guru Gobind Singh Jayanti Jan 5 Thursday Optional Holiday
Republic Day Jan 26 Thursday Gazetted Holiday
Vasant Panchami Feb 1 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Guru Ravidas Birthday Feb 10 Friday Optional Holiday
Maha Shivratri Feb 25 Saturday Optional Holiday
Doljatra Mar 12 Sunday Optional Holiday
Shaheedi Diwas of Bhagat Singh, Rajguru & Sukhdev Mar 23 Thursday Optional Holiday
Bank Holiday Apr 1 Saturday Bank Holiday
Ram Navami April 5 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Mahavir Jayanti Apr 9 Sunday Optional Holiday
Vaisakhi Apr 13 Thursday Optional Holiday
Dr Ambedkar Jayanti Apr 14 Friday Gazetted Holiday
Good Friday Apr 14 Friday Optional Holiday
Lord Parshuram Jayanti Apr 29 Saturday Optional Holiday
May Day May 1 Monday Gazetted Holiday
Guru Arjun Dev Martyrdom day May 29 Monday Optional Holiday
Sant Guru Kabir Jayanti Jun 9 Friday Optional Holiday
Idul Fitr Jun 26 Monday Optional Holiday
Martyrdom Day of Shaheed Udham Singh Jul 31 Monday Optional Holiday
Independence Day Aug 15 Tuesday Gazetted Holiday
Janmashtami Aug 15 Tuesday Optional Holiday
Parkash Utsav Sri Guru Granth Sahib Ji Aug 22 Tuesday Optional Holiday
Birthday of Baba Sri Chand Ji Aug 30 Wednesday Optional Holiday
Idul Juha Sep 2 Saturday Optional Holiday
Maharaja Agrasen Jayanati Sep 21 Thursday Optional Holiday
Dussehra Sep 29 Friday Optional Holiday
Mahatma Gandhi Birthday Oct 2 Monday Gazetted Holiday
Maharishi Valmiki Birthday Oct 5 Thursday Optional Holiday
Parkash Gurpurab of Sri Guru Ram Dass Ji Oct 7 Saturday Optional Holiday
Deewali Oct 19 Thursday Optional Holiday
Guru Nanak Birthday Nov 4 Saturday Optional Holiday
Martyrdom Day of Sri Guru Teg Bahadur Ji Nov 23 Thursday Optional Holiday
Christmas Day Dec 25 Monday Public Holiday

The famous regional Public holidays in Punjab

There are four important local public holidays in Punjab on the occasion of Sikh festivals. These four festival holidays is the most important state holidays in Punjab. Those are:

1) Guru Gobind Singh Birthday
2) Guru Ravidas Jayanti
3) Martyr's Day of Guru Arjun Dev Ji
4) Guru Nanak Jayanti

The main reason behind these public holidays being the most important holidays in Punjab is, the Sikh population is very high as per the statistics, In Punjab Sikh population is nearly 60 per cent 38 per cent Hindus and remaining percentage is other religions such as Muslims, Christians, Jains, etc.

So as the most practiced religion in Punjab is Sikhism, so most of the Sikh festivals are bank holidays in Punjab. Here are the four religious state holidays in Punjab.

 

1) Guru Gobind Singh Birthday - Guru Gobind Singh Birthday is a state holiday in Punjab. Guru Gobind Singh is the last guru of ten Sikh Gurus, He was born on 22nd December, 1666. After the death of his ancestor, Guru Tegh Bahadur, Guru Gobind Singh became the leader of the Sikhs community. He was a warrior, poet, and philosopher. The belief of covering one's hair with a turban was his participation.

2) Guru Ravidas Jayanti - Guru Ravidas Jayanti is Public holiday in Punjab. This day is celebrated on Magh Purnima, the full-moon day in the month of Magh month. He was born in a low caste family who were considered as untouchables in his time. He was one of the first people to fight for all Indians that everyone should have a set of fundamental human rights.

3) Martyr's Day of Guru Arjun Dev Ji - Martyr's Day of Guru Arjun Dev Ji is a public holiday in Punjab. Guru Arjun Dev Ji is the fifth guru of ten gurus in Sikhism. This day is like a black day for Sikhs as on this day Guru Arjun Dev Ji is tortured and sentenced to death after he refused to stop preaching his message of God as started by Guru Nanak Dev Ji.

4) Guru Nanak Jayanti - Guru Nanak Jayanti is a national holiday. He is the founder of Sikhism and also the first of the ten Sikh Gurus. His birthday is celebrated on the full-moon day in the month of Katak every year.

Is it possible to send money on a Public holiday in Punjab without using Internet or ATM?

Yes, it is possible by using a method called unstructured supplementary service data USSD. This service is also called *99# service. For availing this service first you must register your mobile number with the bank, or else you cannot use this service. The government launched this service in 2014. During a bank holiday in Punjab, one can use this service for banking without using internet or ATM.
 
This service can be employed in Punjabi as well. All you need to do is type *99*30#. You can perform operations such as Balance Inquiry, Mini Statement, Fund Transfer, etc. This service is available for all the banks including SBI, ICICI, HDFC, etc.
 
The procedure of this service will be different for different languages if we consider the process will be as follows
 
First dial *99#
You will receive a set of options
1. Send Money
2. Request Money
3. Check balance
4. My profile
5. Pending request
6. Transactions
 7. UPI PIN
 Here you have the dial to make the selection of service by its serial number.
 
For Example, if you want to check the balance. You have to select option three, and then you can see the balance. Not only there are many more services which you avail during a bank holiday in Punjab.